Helpful Links

Adult Education Websites

BBC Skillwise www.bbc.co.uk/skillswise

Goodwill Community Foundation www.gcflearnfree.org

Internet Picture Dictionary www.pdictionary.com

The Learning Edge thewclc.ca/edge

Superpages www.superpages.com/adultlearners

U.S.A. Learns www.usalearns.org

Voices of America-Learning English www1.voanews.com/learningenglish/home

Zillow.com www.zillow.com

Automobiles

Car and Driver www.caranddriver.com

Cars.com www.cars.com

Kelly Blue Book www.kbb.com

Art

Art History Resources on the Web witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHlinks.html

Bells ‘n’ Whistles www.Bellsnwhistles.com

Smithsonian Institution www.si.edu

Books & Literature

Authors www.literature.org

Book Browse www.bookbrowse.com

BookFinder.com www.bookfinder.com

Classical Literature www.classicauthors.net

eBooks @ Adelaide http://ebooks.adelaide.edu.au

English Short Title Catologue http://estc.bl.uk

Hathi Trust Digital Library http://catalog.hathitrust.org

Literary Terms www.tnellen.com

Poetry and Poets www.poets.org

The Poetry Tool www.poetryfoundation.org/archive/poetrytool.html

World Digital Library www.wdl.org

WorldCat http://worldcat.org

Business & Finance

Better Business Bureau- United States and Canada www.bbb.org

Business and Human Rights Resource Centre www.business-humanrights.org

Doing Business www.doingbusiness.org

EDGAR Online www.edgar-online.com

Export.gov www.export.gov

Invention Dimension http://web.mit.edu/invent

NASDAQ http://www.nasdaq.com/

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Association http://www.naics.com/

ThomasNet http://www.thomasnet.com/

Career/Jobs

CareerOneStop www.careeronestop.org

Current Events

ePodunk www.epodunk.com

FedSpending.org www.fedspending.org

GovTrack.us: Tracking the U.S. Congress www.govtrack.us

Liber8 http://liber8.stlouisfed.org

Migration Information Source www.migrationinformation.org

Muckety- Exploring the paths of power and influence http://news.muckety.com

Newseum- Today’s Front Pages www.newseum.org/todaysfrongpages

U.S. Economy at a Glance www.bls.gov/eag/eag.us.htm

UNdata: A world of information http://data.un.org

Who’s Alive and Who’s Dead www.wa-wd.com

World Newspapers www.world-newspapers.com

Genealogy

FamilySearch.org http://www.familysearch.org/eng/default.asp

Genealogy Spot http://www.genealogyspot.com

National Archives and Records Administration http://www.archives.gov

The USGenWeb Project http://www.usgenweb.org

Government

Disability.gov www.disability.gov

Child Custody www.childcustody.org

FamiliesUSA www.familiesusa.org

IRS www.irs.gov

Medicare www.medicare.gov

Mississippi Department of Revenue http://www.dor.ms.gov/

Mississippi Library Commission Digital Collection http://cdm16290.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/

Official State Web Site of Mississippi http://www.mississippi.gov

Social Security Administration www.ssa.gov

State Information www.stateinformation.com

U.S. Chamber of Commerce www.uschamber.com

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission www.cpsc.gov

U.S. Department of State: Travel www.state.gov/travel

The White House www.whitehouse.gov

Health

Affordable Care Act Tax Provisions: http://www.irs.gov/uac/Affordable-Care-Act-Tax-Provisions-Home

American Dental Association www.ada.org

American Hospital Directory www.ahd.com

FamilyDoctor.com http://familydoctor.org

Genetics Home Reference http://ghr.nlm.nih.gov

Genome.gov www.genome.gov

Health Finder www.healthfinder.gov

Health Help Mississippi:  www.healthhelpms.org

Health Insurance Marketplace: https://www.healthcare.gov/

Health Insurance Marketplace (Spanish): https://www.cuidadodesalud.gov/es/

Mayo Clinic’s Health Oasis www.mayoclinic.com

MedlinePlus    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus

Mississippi Dental Association www.msdental.org

National Institute of Mental Health www.nimh.nih.gov

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Southeastern/Atlantic Region: http://guides.nnlm.gov/sea/ACA 

Paralysis.org www.paralysis.org

PDRHealth http://pdrhealth.com

Rural Assistance Center: http://www.raconline.org/

World Health Organization www.who.int/en

Higher Education

Free Application For Student Aid (FAFSA) www.fafsa.ed.gov

FastWeb: Scholarships, Financial Aid and Colleges www.fastweb.monster.com

Jones County Junior College www.jcjc.edu

Mississippi State University www.msstate.edu

RiseUp! http://www.mississippi.edu/riseupms/index.php

University of Mississippi www.olemiss.edu

University of Southern Mississippi www.usm.edu

History

Ad*Access http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adaccess

American Presidency Project www.presidency.ucsb.edu

BBC News-Country Profiles http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/country_profiles/default.stm

The Bill of Rights Institute www.billofrightsinstitute.org

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov

Civil Rights Movement Timeline www.infoplease.com/spot/civilrightstimeline1.html

History Channel http://history.com

Juneteenth World Wide Celebration www.juneteenth.com

LIFE photo archive hosted by Google http://images.google.com/hosted/life

The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2012 www.livingroomcandidate.org

NASA Images www.nasaimages.org

National Civil Rights Museum www.civilrightsmuseum.org

Official Kwanzaa Web Site www.officialkwanzaawebsite.org

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection www.lib.utexas.edu/maps

Presidents of the United States www.potus.com

Seven Wonders of the World www.unmuseum.org

The Supreme Court Database http://scdb.wustl.edu

Language/Writing

Abbreviations www.abbreviations.com

Dictionary.com http://www.dictionary.com

Gate2Home www.gate2home.com

Ipl2: Information You Can Trust www.ipl.org

Lexicool.com www.lexicool.com

MDBG Chinese-English Dictionary www.mdbg.net

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) http://owl.english.purdue.edu

Son of Citation Machine http://citationmachine.net

Sparknotes www.sparknotes.com

Speech Accent Archive http://accent.gmu.edu

Wordnik: All the Words www.wordnik.com

WordReference.com www.wordreference.com

Miscellaneous

American Bar Association http://www.abanet.org

American Time Use Survey www.bls.gov/tus

The Baby Name Wizard www.babynamewizard.com

GetHuman www.gethuman.com

Hulu www.hulu.com

Local Harvest www.localharvest.org

National Senior Citizen Law Center www.nsclc.org

OnlineConversion.com http://onlineconversion.com

Petrucci Music Library/IMSLP http://imslp.org/wiki/Main_Page

PubChem Project http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Shodor.org www.shodor.org

The Southern Register http://www.olemiss.edu/depts/south/register

Test Reviews Online http://buros.unl.edu/buros/jsp/search.jsp

Nature

Arbor Day Foundation www.arborday.org

National Gardening Association www.garden.org

NOAA’s National Ocean Service http://oceanservice.noaa.gov

United Nations Environment Programme www.unep.org

US Weather Forecast Search www.accuweather.com

United States Environmental Protection Agency www.epa.gov

Weather Channel Online www.weather.com

Religion

The Association of Religion Data Archives www.thearda.com

Blue Letter Bible www.blueletterbible.org

Science

E!Science News www.esciencenews.com

Popsci www.popsci.com

Science News www.sciencenews.org

Sports

NCAA www.ncaa.org

Sports Reference www.sports-reference.com

Travel

Fodor’s www.fodors.com

International Travel Info www.travel.state.gov

LocalHikes www.localhikes.com

SeatGuru www.seatguru.com

Traffic.com www.traffic.com

Travelocity www.travelocity.com

Trip Advisor www.tripadvisor.com

UrbanRail.Net www.urbanrail.net/index.html

Report a broken link.